Tuition and Fees
of Students for Tuition Purposes
Other Expenses and Penalties
Beginning with the 1998-99 academic year, fees will be
based on the semester calendar system. The academic year will consist of two 15-week
semesters rather than three 10-week quarters. Fees are subject to change by the Board of
Regents of the University System of Georgia. Current fee information is published each
semester in the Columbus State University Schedule of Courses. All fees are payable at
the scheduled time each semester. Students are not officially registered until all fees
have been paid.
Matriculation fee — Students enrolled for 12 or
more credit hours are assessed a fee (tuition) of $865 at the undergraduate level and
$1,000 at the graduate level. Students carrying less than 12 credit hours pay at the rate
of $72 per credit hour at the undergraduate level and $83 per credit hour at the graduate
Non-resident fee — Non-residents of Georgia pay
an additional $2,610 at the undergraduate level and $3,000 at the graduate level if
enrolled for 12 credit hours or more. If enrolled for less than 12 hours, the
undergraduate non-resident fee per credit hour is $218 and the graduate non-resident fee
per credit hour is $250.
Student activity, athletic, health, and campus access fees
— For the fall semester, there is a student activity fee of $16 for students taking
one to four hours, $32 for students taking five to nine hours, and $44 for students taking
ten or more hours. The athletic fee is $27 for students taking one to four hours, $55 for
students taking five to nine hours, and $76 for students taking ten or more hours. All
students are assessed a health service fee of $18 and a campus access fee of $7. For the
summer term, the student activity fee is $10 for students taking one to four hours, $15
for students taking five to nine hours, and $21 for students taking ten or more hours. The
athletic fee is $18 for students taking one to four hours, $37 for students taking five to
nine hours, and $51 for students taking ten or more hours. All students are assessed a
health service fee of $12 and a campus access fee of $4.
Fee waivers — Residents of Georgia enrolling
under Georgia Constitutional Amendment 23 (62 years of age or older) may have fees waived.
Arrangements should be made in advance through the Admissions Office. Students approved
for graduate assistantships are assessed a fee of $25.
The following policies have been adopted by the Board of
Regents for the purpose of determining the tuition status of students:
- If a person is 18 years of age or older, he or she may
register as an in-state student only upon a showing that he or she has been a legal
resident of Georgia for a period of at least 12 months immediately preceding the date of
- No emancipated minor or other person 18 years of age or older
shall be deemed to have gained or acquired in-state status for tuition purposes while
attending any educational institution in Georgia, in the absence of a clear evidence that
he or she has in fact established legal residence in Georgia.
- If a person is under 18 years of age, registration may be made
as an in-state student only upon showing that the supporting parent or guardian has been a
legal resident of Georgia for a period of at least 12 months immediately preceding the
date of registration.
- If the legal residence of a parent or legal guardian of a
minor changes to another state following a period of legal residence in Georgia, the minor
may continue to take courses for a period of 12 consecutive months on the payment of
in-state tuition. After the expiration of the 12-month period, registration may be
continued only upon the payment of fees at the out-of-state rate.
- In the event that a legal resident of Georgia is appointed as
guardian of a nonresident minor, such minor will not be permitted to register as an
in-state student until the expiration of one year from the date of court appointment, and
then only upon a proper showing that such appointment was not made to avoid payment of the
- Aliens shall be classified as nonresident students; however,
an alien who is living in this country under an immigration document permitting indefinite
or permanent residence shall have the same privilege of qualifying for in-state tuition as
a citizen of the United States.
Non-resident fee waivers — Columbus State
University may waive out-of-state tuition for:
- Students who have been legal residents of Lee and Russell
Counties in Alabama for at least 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the date of
- Non-resident students who are financially dependent upon a
parent, parents or spouse who has been a legal resident of Georgia for at least 12
consecutive months immediately preceding the date of registration; provided, however, that
such financial dependence shall have existed for at least 12 consecutive months
immediately preceding the date of registration.
- Non-resident students, selected by the institutional president
or his authorized representative; provided, however, that the number of such waivers in
effect at any time does not exceed two percent of the equivalent full-time students
enrolled at the institution in the fall semester immediately preceding the semester for
which the out-of-state tuition is to be waived.
- Full-time employees of the university system, their spouses,
and their dependent children.
- Full-time teachers in the public schools of Georgia and their
dependent children. Teachers employed full time on military bases in Georgia shall also
qualify for this waiver.
- Career consular officers and their dependents who are citizens
of the foreign nation which their consular office represents, and who are stationed and
living in Georgia under orders of their respective governments. This waiver shall apply
only to those consular officers whose nations operate on the principle of educational
reciprocity with the United States.
- Active duty military personnel and their dependents stationed
- Full-time Georgia National Guard members.
Students are responsible for registering under the proper
tuition status. Students classified as non-residents for tuition purposes who believe they
are entitled to be reclassified as legal residents must petition the director of
admissions for a change in status. The petition must be filed no later than 60 days after
the semester begins in order for students to be considered for reclassification for that
semester. If the petition is granted, reclassification will not be retroactive to prior
semesters. Information about necessary documentation to support a petition for
reclassification is available in the Admissions Office.
Application fee — A non-refundable, one-time
application fee of $20 is required of all applicants except those seeking transient
student status and Georgia residents 62 years of age or older.
Housing fees - A resident of campus housing must be
enrolled full-time at Columbus State University. Fees are due at the time of registration.
Effective fall 1998 (pending approval of the Board of Regents of the University System of
Georgia), fees per semester for Courtyard I will be $1,855 for buildings A-E and $1,530
for building F with 10 meals per week provided. Fees for Courtyard II will be $2,030 for a
private bedroom and $1,930 for a shared bedroom with 10 meals per week provided. A 15
meals per week plan will be available for an additional $210 per semester. A $100 room
reservation-damage-security deposit must accompany the housing agreement.
Late registration fees — During the late
registration period, $25; registrations approved after the late registration period, $50.
Graduation fee — Non-refundable, for cap and gown
and diploma for associate and baccalaureate degrees, $20; for graduate degrees, $30.
Class fees — Special class fees are applicable to
certain courses in the College of Science ($15) and the College of Education ($30) to
cover the costs of instructional materials.
Applied music fees — Special fees are added for
individual and class instruction in applied music. Refer to the Schedule of Courses
booklet for the amount of these fees.
Textbooks — All book sales are final; no refunds
will be made. Approximate cost of books and supplies is $400 per semester.
Delinquent Fees and Fines
Students may be dropped from Columbus State University at any
time they become delinquent in either the payment of fees, the clearing of fines, or the
repayment of loans. Registration will be stopped and copies of educational records will be
withheld if a student has either outstanding financial obligations or delinquent loans.
Returned check charge — $25 or five percent of
the amount of the check, whichever is greater. After one returned check, personal checks
will not be accepted. Any student enrolled who fails to clear a returned check for tuition
or non-resident fee within 10 days of notification will be expelled. The records will be
attached and the check must still be redeemed prior to either further registration or
receipt of transcript.
Fees will be recalculated and appropriate adjustments made
for students who register and then find it necessary to drop a course before the end of
the schedule change period. No refund will be made for a reduction in credit hours after
the schedule change period. Students who formally withdraw from the university on or
before the official first day of the semester will be entitled to a complete (100%) refund
of all registration fees. Students withdrawing from all courses after the official first
day of the semester will be entitled to a refund of the matriculation fee, non-resident
fee, activity fee, campus access fee, health fee, and athletic fee according to the
|Withdrawal form filed before the end of:
|the first 10% of the semester of enrollment
|the first 25% of the semester of enrollment
|the first 50% of the semester of enrollment
Withdrawal form filed after the end of:
|the first 50% of the semester of enrollment
Specific dates reflecting the above refund schedule are
published each semester in the Schedule of Courses. A refund of elective charges
for withdrawing from the institution during a semester will be made on a prorated basis
determined by the date of withdrawal. Students attending an institution for the first time
who receive assistance under Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended, are
entitled to a prorata refund of that portion of the tuition, fees, room and board, and
other charges assessed by the institution. The proportion refundable is equal to that
portion of the period of enrollment for which the student has been charged that remains on
the last day of attendance, up to the 60 percent point in time of the semester.
All non-resident fees, matriculation fees, and other required
fees paid for the semester will be refunded in the event of the death of a student at any
time during a semester. A separate refund schedule will be in effect during summer terms,
the intersession, and for continuing education courses. Students who do not formally
withdraw, those suspended for disciplinary reasons, or those who leave the university when
disciplinary action is pending are not eligible for a refund of any portion of any fee.
Refunds for recalculated fees and 100 percent withdrawals will be mailed within
approximately two weeks after registration. Other refunds will be mailed immediately after
Send questions or
comments about this page to our e-mail.
This page designed and maintained by Karen Morris.
This page was
last updated on 08/29/06 10:22 AM
This page is part of the Columbus State University web site.
Send mail to the CSU Webmaster with questions
or comments about this web site.