Columbus State University
1999-2000 Academic Catalog

Expenses

Return to Table of Contents

Tuition and Fees
Classification of Students for Tuition Purposes
Other Expenses
Delinguent Fees and Fines
Refund Policy 


Fees are subject to change by the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia. Current fee information is published each semester in the Columbus State University Schedule of Courses. All fees are payable at the scheduled time each semester. Students are not officially registered until all fees have been paid.

Tuition and Fees

Matriculation fee - Students enrolled for 12 or more credit hours are assessed a fee (tuition) of $904 at the undergraduate level and $1,085 at the graduate level. Students carrying less than 12 credit hours pay at the rate of $76 per credit hour at the undergraduate level and $91 per credit hour at the graduate level. 

Non-resident fee - Non-residents of Georgia pay an additional $2,712 at the undergraduate level and $3,255 at the graduate level if enrolled for 12 credit hours or more. If enrolled for less than 12 hours, the undergraduate non-resident fee per credit hour is $226 and the graduate non-resident fee per credit hour is $272.

Student activity, athletic, health, and campus access fees - For the fall semester and for the spring semester, there is a student activity fee of $22 for students taking one to five hours and $44 for students taking six or more hours. The athletic fee is $65 for students taking one to five hours and $90 for students taking six or more hours. All students are assessed a health service fee of $18 and a campus access fee of $7. For the summer term, the student activity fee is $16 for students taking one to five hours and $32 for students taking six or more hours. The athletic fee is $40 for students taking one to five hours and $60 for students taking six or more hours. All students are assessed a health service fee of $12 and a campus access fee of $4.

Fee waivers - Residents of Georgia enrolling under Georgia Constitutional Amendment 23 (62 years of age or older) may have fees waived. Arrangements should be made in advance through the Admissions Office. Students approved for graduate assistantships are assessed a matriculation/non-resident fee of $25 plus applicable student activity, athletic, health, and campus access fees. 

Return to Top of Page

Regents' Policies Governing the Classification of Students for Tuition Purposes

The Board of Regents has adopted the following policies for the purpose of determining the tuition status of students:

Non-resident fee waivers - Columbus State University may waive out-of-state tuition for:

Students are responsible for registering under the proper tuition status. Students classified as non-residents for tuition purposes who believe they are entitled to be reclassified as legal residents must petition the director of admissions for a change in status. The petition must be filed no later than 60 days after the semester begins in order for students to be considered for reclassification for that semester. If the petition is granted, reclassification will not be retroactive to prior semesters. Information about necessary documentation to support a petition for reclassification is available in the Admissions Office.

Return to Top of Page

Other Expenses

Application fee - A non-refundable, one-time application fee of $20 is required of all applicants except those seeking transient student status and Georgia residents 62 years of age or older. 

Housing fees - A resident of campus housing must be enrolled full-time at Columbus State University. Fees are due at the time of registration. Effective fall 1999 (pending approval of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia), fees per semester for Courtyard I will be $1,935 with 10 meals per week provided. Fees for Courtyard II will be $2,085 for a private bedroom and $1,985 for a shared bedroom with 10 meals per week provided. A 15 meals per week plan will be available for an additional $225 per semester. A $100 room reservation-damage-security deposit must accompany the housing agreement.

Late registration fees - During the late registration period, $25; registrations approved after the late registration period, $50. 

Graduation fee - Non-refundable, for cap and gown and diploma for associate and baccalaureate degrees, $20; for graduate degrees, $30. 

Class fees - Special class fees are applicable to certain courses in the College of Science ($15) and the College of Education ($30) to cover the costs of instructional materials. 

Applied music fees - Special fees are added for individual and class instruction in applied music. Refer to Tuition and Fees for the amount of these fees.

Textbooks - All book sales are final; no refunds will be made. Approximate cost of books and supplies is $400 per semester.

Return to Top of Page

Delinquent Fees and Fines

Students may be dropped from Columbus State University at any time they become delinquent in the payment of fees, the clearing of fines, or the repayment of loans. Registration will be stopped and copies of educational records will be withheld if a student has either outstanding financial obligations or delinquent loans. 

Returned check charge - $25 or five percent of the amount of the check, whichever is greater. After one returned check, personal checks will not be accepted. Any student enrolled who fails to clear a returned check for tuition or non-resident fee within 10 days of notification will be expelled. The records will be attached and the check must still be redeemed prior to either further registration or receipt of transcript. 

Returned check charge - $25 or five percent of the amount of the check, whichever is greater. After one returned check, personal checks will not be accepted. Any student enrolled who fails to clear a returned check for tuition or non-resident fee within 10 days of notification will be expelled. The records will be attached and the check must still be redeemed prior to either further registration or receipt of transcript. 

Return to Top of Page

Refund Policy

Fees will be recalculated and appropriate adjustments made for students who register and then find it necessary to drop a course before the end of the schedule change period. No refund will be made for a reduction in credit hours after the schedule change period. Students who formally withdraw from the university on or before the official first day of the semester will be entitled to a complete (100%) refund of all registration fees. Students withdrawing from all courses after the official first day of the semester will be entitled to a refund of the matriculation fee, non-resident fee, activity fee, campus access fee, health fee, and athletic fee according to the following schedule:

 

Withdrawal form filed before the end of...,  Proportion Refundable

the first 10% of the semester of enrollment,  90%
the first 25% of the semester of enrollment,  50%
the first 50% of the semester of enrollment,  25% 

Withdrawal form filed after the end of...,  Proportion Refundable

the first 50% of the semester of enrollment,  None

Specific dates reflecting the above refund schedule are published each semester in the Schedule of Courses. A refund of elective charges for withdrawing from the institution during a semester will be made on a prorated basis determined by the date of withdrawal. Students attending an institution for the first time who receive assistance under Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended, are entitled to a prorata refund of that portion of the tuition, fees, room and board, and other charges assessed by the institution. The proportion refundable is equal to that portion of the period of enrollment for which the student has been charged that remains on the last day of attendance, up to the 60 percent point in time of the semester.

All non-resident fees, matriculation fees, and other required fees paid for the semester will be refunded in the event of the death of a student at any time during a semester. A separate refund schedule will be in effect during summer terms, the intersession, and for continuing education courses. Students who do not formally withdraw, those suspended for disciplinary reasons, or those who leave the university when disciplinary action is pending are not eligible for a refund of any portion of any fee. Refunds for recalculated fees and 100 percent withdrawals will be mailed within approximately two weeks after registration. Other refunds will be mailed immediately after mid-semester.


Return to Top of Page
Return to Table of Contents

This page was last updated on 08/29/06 10:16 AMte.

Last Updated: 2/1/11