CSU logo CSU Home      Academics        Colleges & Departments         Enrollment Services   
red_line.gif (286 bytes)
catalog header

cathome.gif (1125 bytes)


The University System of Georgia

The University System of Georgia includes all state-operated institutions of higher education in Georgia C four comprehensive and special-purpose universities, two regional universities, 13 state universities and senior colleges, two state colleges and 13 two-year colleges. These 34 public institutions are located throughout the state.

A 16-member constitutional Board of Regents governs the university system, which has been in operation since 1932. Appointments of board membersCfive from the state-at-large and one from each of the state's 11 congressional districtsCare made by the governor, subject to confirmation by the State Senate. The regular term of board members is seven years.

The chair, the vice chair, and other officers of the board are elected by the members of the board. The chancellor, who is not a member of the board, is the chief executive officer of the board and the chief administrative officer of the university system.

The overall programs and services of the university system are offered through three major components: instruction, public service/continuing education, and research.

Instruction consists of programs of study leading toward degrees, ranging from the associate (two-year) level to the doctoral level, and certificates.

Requirements for admission of students to instructional programs at each of the institutions are determined, pursuant to policies of the Board of Regents, by the institution. The board establishes minimum academic standards and leaves to each institution the prerogative to establish higher standards. Applications for admission should be addressed in all cases to the institutions.

A core curriculum, consisting of freshman and sophomore years of study for students whose educational goals are degrees beyond the associate level, is in effect at the universities, senior colleges, and two-year colleges. This curriculum requires 42 semester credit hours in essential skills (English and mathematics), institutional options, humanities and fine arts, science, math, technology, and social sciences. The core facilitates the transfer of freshman and sophomore degree credits within the university system.

Public service/continuing education consists of non-degree activities, primarily, and special types of college-degree-credit courses. The non-degree activities are of several types, including short courses, seminars, conferences, lectures, and consultative and advisory services, in a large number of areas of interest. Typical college-degree-credit public service/continuing education courses are those offered through extension center programs and teacher education consortiums.

Research encompasses investigations conducted on campuses and at many off-campus locations, covering a large number and a large variety of matters related to the educational objectives of the institutions and to general societal needs. Most of the research is conducted through the universities.

The policies of the Board of Regents for the government, management, and control of the university system and the administrative actions of the chancellor provide autonomy of high degree for each institution. The chief executive of each institution is the president, whose election is recommended by the chancellor and approved by the board.

State appropriations for the university system are requested by, and are made to, the Board of Regents. Allocations of the appropriations are made by the board.

Regents, University System of Georgia
270 Washington Street, S.W.
Atlanta, Ga. 30334

District Regent Term Expires City

State at Large J. Tom Coleman, Jr., Vice Chair (2002) Savannah

State at Large Hilton H. Howell, Jr. (2004) Atlanta

State at Large Charles H. Jones (2002) Macon

State at Large Donald M. Leebern, Jr. (2005) Columbus

State at Large Joel O. Wooten, Jr. (2000) Columbus

First Martin W. NeSmith (2006) Claxton

Second John Hunt (2004) Tifton

Third James D. Yancey (2000) Columbus

Fourth Juanita Powell Baranco (2005) Morrow

Fifth Elridge W. McMillan (2003) Atlanta

Sixth Kenneth W. Cannestra, Chair (2001) Atlanta

Seventh Joe Frank Harris (2006) Cartersville

Eighth Connie Cater (2006) Macon

Ninth Edgar L. Jenkins (2001) Jasper

Tenth Thomas F. Allgood, Sr. (2000) Augusta

Eleventh Glenn S. White (2005) Buford

Term of office expires on January first of year shown in parentheses.

Officers and Staff of the Board of Regents

Stephen R. Portch Chancellor

Gail S. Weber Secretary to the Board/Executive Administrative Assistant

Arthur N. Dunning Senior Vice Chancellor for Human

and External Resources/Acting Deputy

Thomas E. Daniel Vice Chancellor of External Affairs

T. Don Davis Associate Vice Chancellor, Human Resources

Elizabeth E. Neely Associate Vice Chancellor, Legal Affairs

Lindsay Desrochers Senior Vice Chancellor, Capital Resources/Treasures

William R. Bowes Associate Vice Chancellor, Fiscal Affairs

William K. Chatham Vice Chancellor, Facilities

Beheruz Sethna Interim Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

Barry A. Fullerton Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs

E. Michael Stamon Vice Chancellor, Information /Instructional Technology /CIO

Cathie M. Hudson Associate Vice Chancellor, Planning and Policy Analysis

John T.Wolfe Jr. Associate Vice Chancellor, Academic Affairs

Institutions of the University System of Georgia


Georgia Institute of Technology - h; B,M,D

Georgia State University - h; A,B,J,M,S,D

Medical College of Georgia - h; A,B,M,D

University of Georgia - h; A,B,J,M,S,D

Regional Universities

Georgia Southern University - h; A,B,M,S,cD

Valdosta State University - h; A,B,M,S,cD

State Universities and Senior Colleges

Albany State University - h; B,M

Armstrong Atlantic State University - A,B,M,S

Augusta State University - A,B,M,S

Clayton College and State University - A,B

Columbus State University - h; A,B,M,S

Fort Valley State University - h; A,B,M

Georgia College and State University - h; A,B,M,S

Georgia Southwestern State University - h; A,B,M,S

Kennesaw State University - A,B,M

North Georgia College and State University - h; A,B,M

Savannah State University - h; A,B,M

Southern Polytechnic State University - h; A,B

State University of West Georgia - h; A,B,M,S

State Colleges

Dalton College - A

Macon State College - A,B

Two-Year Colleges

Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College- h; A

Atlanta Metropolitan College - A

Bainbridge College - A

Brunswick College - A

Darton College - A

DeKalb College - A

East Georgia College - A

Floyd College - A

Gainesville College - A

Gordon College - h; A

Middle Georgia College - h; A

South Georgia College - h; A

Waycross College - A

h - On Campus Student Housing Facilities

Degrees Awarded: A-Associate; B-Bachelor's; J-Juris Doctor; M-Master's; S-Specialist in Education; D-Doctor's; cD-Doctor's, offered in cooperation with a university system university, with degree awarded by the university


red_line.gif (286 bytes)

  Questions or comments about this page? Send us an email.

CSU Home  |  2000-2001 Catalog Contents
Academic Affairs
  |  Academic Catalogs  |  Academics  |  Admissions
 Financial Aid  |  Registrar  |  Registration  |  Veteran Affairs

This page was last updated on 05/01/2007
This page is part of the Columbus State University web site.

Last Updated: 2/1/11