Skip to Main Content

Columbus State University

Department of Theatre

The Department of Theatre at Columbus State University educates students in the collaborative art of theatre and prepares them for professional employment, careers in theatre education, and graduate study. The course of study teaches the craft and artistry of acting, directing, design, technical, and educational theatre.  The professional and energetic faculty encourages students to experiment, explore, and discover in a supportive yet challenging environment. CSU productions serve as a laboratory where students practice classroom theories, test analytical skills, and undertake cooperative endeavors while promoting the creative act of theatre.  CSU's Department of Theatre is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Theatre, which means that CSU's Department of Theatre offers an education that meets or exceeds the national standard and the education provides a base of academic strength and operational integrity.


The Department of Theatre offers the following degrees:

Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) - Theatre

Bachelor of Fine Arts (B.F.A.) - Theatre (Design & Technology)

Bachelor of Fine Arts (B.F.A.) - Theatre (Performance Track)

Bachelor of Science Education (B.S.Ed.) - Theatre Education

Master of Education (M.Ed.) - Theatre Education